Visa payWave® a faster way to pay

Visa payWave®: a faster way to pay

Visa payWave is a convenient feature that lets you pay with your card or mobile device by simply waving it over a secure reader instead of inserting or swiping your card. The purchase will then be authorized, processed and billed in the same secure way it is today. All you have to do is check for this symbol Visa payWave on your card or check that your bank is participating in Visa payWave for mobile, and that you have downloaded the mobile app to your phone, wave it and go.

How Visa payWave transactions work

Visa payWave cards have an embedded antenna and microchip, enabling "contactless" communication with a reader at the checkout. No swiping, inserting, signing or PIN is required for purchases under the merchant's set limit. If your purchase is over the merchant's set limit, you may be asked to sign, swipe or insert your card instead.

Similarly, Visa payWave-enabled mobile devices with built-in near field communications (NFC) technology combined with an application, facilitates the same kind of instant communication with the reader. When you wave your phone in front of the contactless reader, the Visa payWave application safely transmits encrypted payment information to the reader. If your purchase is over the limit, you may be asked to insert your card or enter a PIN and tap a second time.

Visa payWave security

Visa payWave uses EMV chip technology, which provides enhanced security and protection from fraud. Visa payWave transactions are processed through the same secure and reliable network used for all Visa transactions. And because your card or mobile device never leaves your hand during the entire Visa payWave transaction, the risk of your card being used for fraudulent transactions is reduced.

All Visa cards also carry the Visa Zero Liability policy, which provides you with protection against fraud. Use your Visa card to make purchases anywhere and you're protected from unauthorized use of your card or account information. With the Visa Zero Liability policy1, your liability for unauthorized transactions2 is $0-you pay nothing.

1 Visa's Zero Liability Policy covers Canada-issued cards and does not apply to anonymous Visa Prepaid*, Visa Purchasing, Visa Corporate, Visa Commercial, or any transactions not processed by Visa. Visa Cardholders must notify their financial institution immediately of any unauthorized use. For specific restrictions, limitations and other details, please refer to your issuer cardholder documentation.

*A Visa Prepaid Card will be considered anonymous if the cardholder's identity has not been validated by the issuing financial institution (for example, a Visa Prepaid Gift Card).

2 Financial institutions may exclude from the Zero Liability policy a transaction made by a person authorized to transact business on the account and/or a transaction made by a cardholder that exceeds the authority given by the account owner.


Visa payWave

Get a payWave Mobile App

If you are a Visa Merchant  Click here for specific merchant-related information on the Visa payWave feature.

Visa payWave(TM) a faster way to pay

Visa payWave®. Pour payer plus rapidement.

La fonctionnalité Visa payWave offre une façon pratique de payer en passant tout simplement votre carte ou votre appareil mobile à proximité d’un lecteur sécuritaire plutôt que d’avoir à insérer ou à glisser votre carte. L’achat sera autorisé, traité et facturé de la même façon sécuritaire qu’il l’est aujourd’hui. Il suffit de chercher ce symbole Visa payWave sur votre carte ou de vérifier si votre banque participe au programme Visa payWave® pour mobile et que vous avez téléchargé l’application sur votre téléphone, ensuite passez et allez.

Comment se déroulent les transactions Visa payWave

Les cartes Visa payWave ont antenne et une micropuce intégrées qui permettent de communiquer « sans contact » avec un lecteur à la caisse. Vous n’avez pas à glisser ni à insérer la carte, et aucune signature ni aucun NIP ne sont requis pour les achats inférieurs à la limite établie par le marchand. Si votre achat est supérieur à la limite établie par le marchand, on peut vous demander de signer un reçu ou de glisser ou d’insérer votre carte.

De même, les appareils mobiles dotés de la fonctionnalité Visa payWave avec la technologie de communication en champ proche sans fil (NFC) intégrée jumelée à une application permet la même communication instantanée avec le lecteur. Lorsque vous passez votre téléphone à proximité du lecteur sans contact, l’application Visa payWave transmet en sécurité au lecteur les données chiffrées relatives au paiement. Si votre achat est supérieur à la limite, on peut vous demander d'insérer votre carte, d’entrer un NIP ou de passer votre téléphone une autre fois. .

Visa payWave est sécuritaire

Visa payWave est fondée sur la technologie de la carte à puce EMV qui vous offre une sécurité améliorée et une protection contre la fraude. Les transactions Visa payWave seront traitées par l'entremise du même réseau de paiement sécuritaire et fiable qui est utilisé pour toutes les transactions Visa. De plus, puisque vous gardez le contrôle de la carte ou de l’appareil mobile pendant toute la transaction Visa payWave, le risque lié à la fraude avec votre carte est réduit.

Toutes les cartes Visa sont aussi visées par la politique Responsabilité zéro de Visa qui vous offre une protection contre la fraude. Si votre carte Visa est perdue ou volée, vous ne payez rien pour les achats frauduleux *.

La politique Responsabilité zéro de Visa s’applique à toutes les cartes Visa et vous offre une protection contre la fraude.

1 La politique Responsabilité zéro de Visa protège les cartes émises au Canada et ne s’applique pas aux transactions anonymes effectuées avec les cartes Visa prépayée*, Visa Approvisionnement, Visa Entreprise et Visa Commerciale ou à toute autre transaction non traitée par Visa. En cas d’utilisation non autorisée, les titulaires de carte Visa doivent en aviser immédiatement leur institution financière. Pour connaître les restrictions ou les limites particulières ou pour obtenir tout autre détail, veuillez vous reporter à la documentation de l’institution qui vous a émis la carte.

* Une carte Visa Prépayée sera considérée comme étant anonyme, si l’identité du titulaire de carte n’a pas été validée par l’institution financière émettrice de la carte (par exemple, une carte-cadeau Visa Prépayée).

2 Les institutions financières peuvent exclure de la politique Responsabilité zéro une transaction effectuée par une personne autorisée à effectuer des transactions sur le compte ou une transaction effectuée par un titulaire de carte qui dépasse l’autorisation accordée par le titulaire de compte.


Visa payWave

Obtenez une application payWave mobile